How to Get Rid of a Cold Sore

Yesterday, I shared my lovely experiences of living with a cold sore, and promised to tell you how I beat my latest one.  That’s right, I was able to stop a cold sore from developing any further.  It shrunk its nasty self back into the recesses of my lip to appear another low-immunity-leveled-day. (which will probably be soon ‘cause I have a limited supply of immunes)

I share with you today, Erica’s Cold Sore Battle Method!!!  It worked for me, and hopefully it will work for you, too.  Just follow my three easy steps!

 Erica’s Cold Sore Battle Method

Materials:

Washcloth

Ice

L-Lysine

Abreva

Step 1:

Catch it early!  As soon as you feel the little bugger itching on your lip, or see the bubble beginning to take form, go ahead and pop 2,000 mg of L-Lysine into your mouth (for me, that was 4 pills).  Continue to take these little treasure pills throughout the day (for two days) by taking 500 mg (or more) every hour.  You can take up to 9,000 mg a day safely, though the most I’ve ever taken was 7,000 mg.

This is the brand I bought from Target.

 

Step 2:

Grab a washcloth, fold it in half, wrap an ice cube in it, but leave a bit of the ice peeking out. (don’t be lazy and use an easy-to-reach papertowel, ‘cause the ice will quickly melt right through and drip all over you)  Apply this ice to the cold sore site until the entire ice cube has melted away.  This will usually take 20-30 minutes.  If you’re pressed for time, do it for at least 10 minutes as many times as you can throughout the day.  I applied a full ice cube every hour for the next two days.  (In all honesty, I would miss a few hours here and there, so on average, I used 4 or 5 ice cubes a day, but if you can remember to do it every hour, do it.)

Step 3:

As soon as your lip has been iced, liberally apply Abreva to the site.  If you’re not going out in public, shamelessly whiten that area up and let the medicine do its trick.  If you have to interact with people, it’s cool to just put on a thin layer that will blend in to your lip.  I not only applied Abreva after every icing, but also anytime I started feeling my lip itch, or anytime I “remembered” I had a cold sore.  I don’t think there is such a thing as too much Abreva.

Thank you abreva.com for this picture. I used up all mine and threw out the bottle a few days ago and haven’t restocked (which I usually do as soon as possible because cold sores are sneaky and I want to be prepared) Also, I used this pump style bottle because at the time of purchase, it was all that was available. However, they also sell it in a small tube (like, smaller than your pinky finger, small). I recommend that one. The pump ends up squirting WAY too much lotion out, that you end up wiping off your finger and throwing away. This stuff is too expensive to be throwing away like that. But trust me, the $13 you spend on that miniscule tube of glory is worth every cent!

 

So that’s how I did it!  I understand that certain jobs disallow the opportunity to follow this completely throughout the day (I was a teacher, so trust me, I know).  However, even doing as much of it as you can, really does minimize the symptoms.  Currently being unemployed and confined to my couch all day to heal my ankle, I was able to give my system a full-fledged chance, and it worked like a charm!  Good luck, and feel free to share your own cold sore busting tips in the comments!

3 thoughts on “How to Get Rid of a Cold Sore

  1. Pingback: Cold Sores 101 | Yeah, I'm A Nerd

Leave a Reply

