A Smurfy Addiction

I’ve always been drawn to anything miniature.  My favorite toys as a child consisted of tiny animals with small accessories.  I even swiped my brothers’ Micro Machine cars that had baby cars tucked inside.  So it comes as no surprise that I completely immersed myself into the Smurf world.  I wanted the Smurfs to exist in the worst way, and would slowly creep up on the mushrooms growing in my backyard hoping to catch a glimpse of them.

When I got an iPhone last year and saw that there was a Smurfs game, I downloaded it immediately.  It’s basically FarmVille with Smurfs.  I played it for months, and even learned how to mess with my phone’s clock settings to cheat and get ahead in the game.  Eventually, I grew bored of the game, and forgot about it.  That is, until a few weeks ago.

My mom discovered she was only using her iPad as an eReader and Pandora streamer, so she decided she might as well get a Kindle Fire and pass the iPad on to someone who might actually use it in its entirety.  That person was me.  While I do use the iPad for a variety of purposes, currently, 90% of its usage is spent on Smurfs.  I’ve been delightfully enjoying the larger images of my little Smurf Village.  That poor, expensive iPad went from a glorified Kindle to a hand-held Smurf game.

At night, I’ll sit for hours cheating my clock settings to collect the Smurfberries that allow me to “buy” the nice things in the game.  I feel so accomplished at the end of it, and that’s horrible!  While I do know this Smurfy addiction of mine needs to be reined in, it’s difficult, because I can’t get over how cute my little Smurfs are, and I just want to keep checking in on them!  I decided to take a few screen shots over the last week so that when I feel like playing, I can instead, flip through my pictures and get the “cute fix” that the playing of Smurfs gives me.  That way, I’ll have my iPad open for better uses.  Like spending hours on Feedly reading all of my favorite blogs.

I mean, look how cute they are riding their pet guinea pig!

I mean, look how cute they are riding their pet guinea pig!

I created my dream Smurf home in all its purple glory.

I created my dream Smurf home in all its purple glory.

 

9 thoughts on “A Smurfy Addiction

  1. OH MY GOSH I used to be obsessed with miniature too! I used to want to BE miniature, in fact! I’d collect miniature dolls and animals and pretend they lived in my jewelry box.
    Also, my smurf dream shroom would be purple, too.

  2. In the cartoon “One Big Happy” in the newspaper, the little girl calls the Homework Hotline and asks the lady what color would a smurf be if he choked to death. Hmmm… I wonder what color he would be? Good question!

  3. “That poor, expensive iPad went from a glorified Kindle to a hand-held Smurf game.”

    That might be the best (and saddest) line to exist in your blog. 🙂

  4. Watching the Smurfs was my favorite Saturday morning ritual, and I used to pretend I was tiny, too! I also loved The Littles and I pretended they lived in my house 🙂 I loved imagining what it would be like to live in my room as a teeny tiny person, riding the fan blades around and around, and taking my dog for a ride outside. Ah, childhood…

  5. Pingback: The Elf Bear > The Elf on the Shelf | Yeah, I'm A Nerd

Leave a Reply

